Rump Steak and Herb Potatoes

Hi guys and welcome back to my blog!

I didn’t get much response from my last post, so I decided to just make something that I enjoy to cook. So this time, I am going to be writing about a meal that is a big hit with my boyfriend – rump steak with new potatoes and fried onions.

This is a really simple recipe that yet again, you can personalise yourself depending on how you like your food cooked. For me and my boyfriend, we both like our steaks to be cooked rare so timings for this will be made according to that.

For the potatoes you will need:

  • Handful of potatoes per person
  • Olive oil
  • Parsley
  • Garlic
  • Basil

For the steak you will need:

  • One piece of rump steak per person (I use 8-10 oz steaks)
  • Olive oil
  • Parsley
  • One onion

The first thing that I did for this recipe was boil up my potatoes. If you want your potatoes to be soft, I would recommend boiling first, but it is not a necessity. If you are going to boil your potatoes, I would recommend boiling them for about 20 minutes. Whilst they are boiling, mix together your other ingredients in a separate bowl. For this, I used olive oil (a LOT of it), and a teaspoon of lazy garlic, chopped parley and basil. This was then ready for me to fry off the potatoes when they were boiled.

When the potatoes were boiled, I heated a small amount of the oil in a pan on a low heat and then coated the potatoes with the rest of the oil before putting it into the pan. The potatoes took about 5 minutes in the pan, but I left them in a little longer so the skin on the outside of the potatoes was a little crisp.

As the potatoes slowly fried off, I put another pan on a medium heat with a little olive oil on the hob to heat up before searing my steaks. To get the steaks cooked to my liking, I cooked them for 3 minutes on each side, each for a minute a go before turning them over. To the pan I added some sliced onion.

Whilst the steaks were cooking along, I took some of the herby oil mixture from the potatoes and spooned it onto the steak. This was to add a bit more flavour to the steaks. I added about 2 teaspoons of the oil to each side.

And that is it. It is all ready to plate up. It’s a really simple, quick meal, but it looks like there’s more effort gone into it. It feels like a treat whenever we eat it, when in reality it isn’t that hard to make and really not that expensive either.

Please let me know if you try this recipe yourself and what changes you made to it, if you do. I’d love to hear from you! Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and Twitter, all of the details you can find on the “Where to find me” page. Thanks guys!

See you next time.

Jamie xxx

Leave a Reply

