Chilli and Garlic Chicken

Hey guys and welcome back to my blog!

This time, I thought I would try out a savoury dish, as the past two have been sweet, and I’ve planned my next one to be a sweet dish too. The dish that I made was chilli and garlic chicken and vegetable cous cous. Its just one of those easy dishes and it only takes 10 minutes to make. It really is so simple.

When it comes to this sort of thing, I am really awful with portion sizes – I tend to make too much because it never looks enough when it first goes into the pan – so I’m sorry if it is hard for anyone who tries to replicate the recipe.

The cous cous that I used is from a tub, and all you need to do is add water. I’m not quite IMG_5656[1]confident trying to do something like that yet, I think I’d end up burning it or something, I don’t even know. The great thing about this cous cous is that it comes with a scoop, so you can work out your portions. It has markings on the side, so if you want a smaller portion and want to work out your intake values, it will say 1/4, 1/2 or 3/4. One scoop is 50g and you need 80ml of water for every 50g. I usually add a little bit more water so that it makes the cous cous a little fluffier. But as usual, it is trial and error to see what you prefer. I heated this on a medium heat for about 3 minutes with a lid on the pan so that the water would be absorbed fully.

Whenever I know I’m going to be eating chicken, I always make sure that I buy either frozen chicken or already cooked chicken. I absolutely HATE dealing with raw chicken, I just hate the sliminess off it. So, because of this, I usually buy frozen sliced cooked chicken. I can just throw this into the pan and it will give it a more char-grilled taste, or I can leave it to defrost and have it cold in salads. Portion size of this I usually use about a handful and a bit of chicken (I have really tiny hands) per person.

To give the chicken some flavour, I heated some oil in the pan and threw in some lazy garlic and chopped red chillies. I mixed this as it was heating so that the oil had the flavour, rather than it just being in the pan. When the oil was nice and hot I put the chicken in and stirred it around now and then, making sure the chicken was coated in the garlic and chilli oil and fully defrosted. This took about 5 minutes.

I then just served it up in a bowl and it was ready to go. If I was to make it again, I think I would have added a sauce, maybe sweet chilli, just to bring the whole meal together. The cous cous can be quite dry otherwise. If you make this meal at home and you add a different type of sauce, please let me know how it worked!

Don’t forget to like and share guys, and follow me on all my social medias. I’ll follow you all back. Thanks so much guys!

Hope you all had a nice week,see you next time!

Jamie xxx

 

Leave a Reply

