A Breakfast Favourite

Hi guys, welcome back to my blog and my first official recipe post!

One of the first things I ever learnt to cook was pancakes. When I was growing up, having pancakes was always a special treat in our house. I used to love it when Pancake Tuesday came around because I knew I was allowed to have loads of sugar and chocolate.

As i got older, Pancake Tuesday always became a chore for my parents, and we would stop having them. I couldn’t wait till my mum would trust me to use the cooker by myself. Well, now that I’m, well older, I feel like pancakes are now a part of my weekly routine.

Last year, I moved in with my boyfriend and his family and it is just the best. They are the best people to try out all of my recipes on, and they love pancakes. BONUS!! I used to make pancakes for myself, but there would be too much batter for just me, and it just got wasted, so i love that I’m able to make them for everyone now.

The recipe that I use is Jamie Oliver’s American Pancakes:

  • 3 Large Free Range Eggs
  • 115g of plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 140ml of milk

The good thing about this recipe is that i’ve tried it by doing it different ways. You don’t need to worry if you don’t have baking powder, or if you don’t have plain flour. Self-raising flour is just as good as plain flour and you don’t need the baking powder. I made these for so long without the baking powder because it was something that i never had in my kitchen.

The trick is to separate your egg whites and yolks. If you whisk your egg whites so they form stiff peaks, they’re going to be the key to making your pancakes nice and fluffy. I’d recommend using an electric whisk, otherwise you’re gonna be there a while trying to form stiff peaks.  I speak from experience, talk about a work out!

Mix all of your other ingredients into a separate bowl until they are a nice batter, and fold in the egg whites. To those people who aren’t fancy foodies, fold just means don’t whisk them in, just gently mix the eggs and the batter together.

Heat your pan on a medium heat with a little oil in it whilst your folding your mixtures together, and then scoop however much you like into the pan. I usually use a level ladle scoop because the pancakes will rise and expand. If you want to have fill your pancakes in the middle with something, nutella is usually my go-to filling, then use half of the ladle, spoon your filling, and top it with the rest of the batter.

You’ll know your pancake is ready to flip because you’ll get small heat bubbles forming on the top of the pancake. When flipped, the other side of the pancake will only need to cook for about 60-90 seconds. Then, your pancakes are ready to be completed with your favourite toppings.

These pancakes are perfect for as a breakfast treat, a savoury lunch time meal or a sweet dessert. I hope this helps anyone. Please, leave a comment and tell me what you think about my first proper post, any feedback is welcomed. Remember to follow me on my social media and I’ll give you a follow back!

See you next time guys!

Jamie xxx

2 thoughts on “A Breakfast Favourite

Leave a Reply

